# Minutes of the DEPARTMENT EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

(October 17, 2021 at 9:15 a.m.)

#### **CALL TO ORDER**

The meeting was called to order by President Jane Larson at 9:18 a.m.

## **OPENING CEREMONY**

**MOTION:** by Anarene Robinson (Unit 33) and seconded by April Sinclair (Unit 57) to dispense with opening

ceremonies except for the prayer and pledge

The motion carried by unanimous voice voter.

## **ROLL CALL**

# PRESENT:

#### **OFFICERS**

President Jane Larson

1st Vice President Anarene Robinson

2<sup>nd</sup> Vice President April Sinclair

Secretary Barbara Nath

Treasurer Diana Estrada

Chaplain Colleen Newman

Historian Lori Fruhwirth

**Executive Committee Member Robyn Downs** 

#### STANDING COMMITTEES

Alaska Girls State Lori Fruhwirth

Auxiliary Emergency Fund Zona Gregg

Junior Activities Nina Ketelson

Membership Anarene Robinson

Past Presidents Parley Jane Larson

Veterans Affairs and Rehabilitation April Sinclair

Minutes of the October 17, 2021
DEC Meeting Page 1 of 5

# **ROLL CALL (continued)**

# PRESENT:

#### **UNITS**

Jack Henry Unit 1 Joseph T. Craig Unit 3 Merlin Elmer Palmer Unit 6 Dorman H. Baker Unit 11 Muldoon Unit 29 Peters Creek Unit 33 Susitna Valley Unit 35 C. Russell Huber Unit 57

#### PAST DEPARTMENT PRESIDENTS

Sharon Cherrette Lisa Williamson

# **ABSENT:**

#### NATIONAL OFFICERS

National Executive Committee Member Penny Mazonna Alternate National Executive Committee Member Sue Diaz

#### **OFFICERS**

Sgt.-at-Arms Frances Bedel Executive Committee Member Sheryl Howe

# STANDING COMMITTEES

Americanism (Vacant)

Audit Sue Diaz

Children and Youth Sheryl Howe

Community Service Kathy Moore

Constitution and ByLaws Sue Diaz

Distinguished Guests Penny Mazonna

Education and Scholarship Lisa Boyles

Finance (Vacant)

Leadership Delores "Dee" Stokes

Legislative Penny Mazonna

National Security Frances Bedel

Poppy Christine Calabrese

Public Relations Beverly Eads

Minutes of the DEC Meeting

# **ROLL CALL (continued)**

## ABSENT:

#### **UNITS**

Seward Unit 5

Lynn Canal Unit 12

Sitka Unit 13

Matanuska Valley Unit 15

General Bucker Unit 16

Robert G. Blair Unit 17

Ninilchik Unit 18

George H. Plumley Memorial Unit 20

Gladys M. Heintz Memorial Unit 27

Spenard Unit 28

Con Miller Unit 30

Chappie James Unit 34

Peter Heyano Unit 442

# PAST DEPARTMENT PRESIDENTS

Eva Aulston	Lynn Bash	Marge Blankenship
Ruth Brown	Betty Bumala	Susan Caswell
Jean Clayton	Lavonne Collier	Sue Diaz
Beverly Eads	Lori FitzSimons	Rehta Foster
Francisca Guilford	June Haas	Laverne Kearns
Debbie Lowndes	Penny Mazonna	Carolyn Null
Evelyn Oliver	Jill Pawson	Betty Porter
Linda Schmitt	Jean Shandy	Etta Singleton
Wilma Stokes	Sue Waldhaus	Barbe Wolkoff

## **READING OF COMMUNICATIONS**

There were no communication to be read at this meeting.

#### **APPROVAL OF MINUTES**

**MOTION**: by Colleen Newman (Unit 35) and seconded by Anarene Robinson (Unit 33) to approve the minute of the

April 14, 2021 Pre-Convention DEC meeting as presented.

The motion carried by unanimous voice vote.

**MOTION**: by Colleen Newman (Unit 35) and seconded by Anarene Robinson (Unit 33) to approve the minute of the April 18, 2021 Post-Convention DEC meeting as presented.

The following corrections were requested

- Joseph T. Craig Unit 3 was present at the meeting.
- On page 5, under Fall Workshop, at the end of the first sentence "dirst" should be corrected to "first".
- On page 5, the last paragraph before Adjournment, the word "stat" should be corrected to "State".

The motion carried by unanimous voice vote with the corrections noted.

**MOTION**: by Colleen Newman (Unit 35) and seconded by Anarene Robinson (Unit 33) to approve the minute of the May 18, 2021 Special DEC meeting as presented.

The following correction was requested

• On page 4, remove #4 out of Diana's name.

The motion carried by unanimous voice vote with the corrections noted.

**MOTION**: by Colleen Newman (Unit 35) and seconded by Anarene Robinson (Unit 33) to approve the minute of the August 29, 2021 National Convention DEC meeting as presented.

The following corrections were requested:

On page 4, under ALA Girls Nation, corrected the word "three" to "there". Sharon Cherrette was present at this meeting.

The motion carried by unanimous voice vote with the corrections noted.

## **OLD BUSINESS**

There was no Old Business to come before the Department Executive Committee.

#### **NEW BUSINESS**

MOTION: by April Sinclair (Unit 57) and seconded by Anarene Robinson (Unit 33) to ratify the appointment of

Debbie Ervin as the Americanism Committee Chair and Beverly Eads as the Finance Committee Chair

(1st year member).

The motion carried by unanimous voice vote.

<u>VA&R / VAVS</u> — April spoke to the potential changes to our VAVS deputies. It was noted that due to the large size of our state, we are allowed four deputies instead of the usual three. At this time, we are needing to change the deputies for the Kenai Peninsula and for the Southeast Region. The deputy can be from ant city within the area. Samantha Funk (Unit 3) indicated her desire to serve as the deputy for the Southeast region. The Kenai Peninsula still needs a deputy. Jane will be traveling to the Kenai Peninsula this next week and will see if she can get someone to cover that area.

Another topic to be discussed was whether the Department could cover the cost of traveling to Anchorage to get their require testing. It would be roundtrip airfare and one night's stay at a hotel.

MOTION:

by April Sinclair (Unit 57) and seconded by Colleen Newman (Unit 35) to authorize the Department of Alaska to cover round trip airfare and one night's hotel stay to travel to Anchorage for required testing to be a VAVS Representative or Deputy.

Treasurer Diana Estrada asked they a budget be developed which can be adjusted as needed. The suggestion was to take the money from gaming. However, there is not much action right now in gaming. Diana requested the source not be stipulated so that she can find an appropriate source when the need arises.

The motion carried by unanimous voice vote.

<u>Signatures on Banking Accounts</u> – Headquarters has recommended that there be two signatures on all department checks. This will need to occur as soon as possible.

**MOTION**: by Colleen Newman (Unit 35) and Sharon Cherrette (Unit 29) to require two signatures on all Department checks.

Diana noted we currently have four people who can sign on checks.

AMENDED MOTION:

by Colleen Newman (Unit 35) and seconded by Sharon Cherrette (Unit 29) to require two signatures on all Department check utilizing the four signers as needed.

The motion carried by unanimous vote.

<u>Governing Documents Amendments</u> – Lisa briefed everyone on the bylaws changes due to those made at the National Convention.

- The NEC changed the name of their executive committee (officers and 2 members of NEC) to Executive Committee of the National Executive Committee
- An Executive Director was added into the National Constitution. We need to fashion our constitution to match National.

Changes required by National will automatically be amended in our governing documents. However, adding the Executive Director will require a vote.

It was asked if there is something in our Standing Rules where we audit our paid employees. Diana noted we had a committee to audit. Our accountant does a yearly audit and our audit committee does an audit at Department Convention.

#### ANNOUNCEMENTS/INFORMATION

- Department Convention April 21-23, 2022
- At Department Convention, the TAL Adjutant will need to know who might be going to North Carolina to estimate rooms.
- Poppy Orders Due November 12<sup>th</sup>.

# **CLOSING PRAYER/ADJOURNMENT**

The closing prayer was offered by Chaplain Colleen Newman. There being no further business to come before the DEC, the meeting was adjourned at 9:41 a.m.